Rugby World Cup (RWC)

Find a Competition
+ Cant Find a Comp?
Click here to ADD One

Competition Profile Edit
Site User Upload
Competition Name: Rugby World Cup (RWC)
General Info Edit


The Rugby World Cup is the apex of the rugby world.  The very best international teams come together for a massive all-out brawl once every 4 years to find who can be crowned king of the rugby world.  The winner takes away the William Webb Ellis Trophy.

Entry to the competition gets tougher every year.  There are over 90 countries ranked by the IRB and the lower teams need to pass through a qualification process, beating off their rivals to earn a right of passage to the main event where 8 spots are up for grabs.  The big nations gain automatic qualification and fill the first 12 spots.

Within the tournament there are two main sections of play.  In the first there are 4 pools of 5 teams each, where each pool plays a round-robin style competition meaning 4 games each.  The top 2 teams from each pool then qualify to progress through to the business 'knockout' end of the tournament, comprising of quarterfinals, semi finals and then the final.

The RWC is rated as the 3rd biggest sporting event on the globe.  While some find this debatable it is right up there and is getting bigger every year.  Like other major events such as the Olympics, countries face an ever increasing battle win the hosting rights.

Rugby World Cup 2011
The Rugby World Cup 2011 is being hosted by New Zealand from 9 September 2011 through to the final on 23 October.  As ever the All Blacks go into the tournament as red hot favourites, but history shows that this means nothing in a knockout tournament like this.  There are multiple teams capable of beating anyone on their day.  

 Pool A  Pool B
 Pool C  Pool D




 New Zealand















 South Africa


Round Robin Phase
In the Round Robin, teams play all other teams in their Pool.

Quarter Finals
QF1: Winner of Pool C takes on Second from Pool D
QF2: Winner of Pool B takes on Second from Pool A
QF3: Winner of Pool D takes on Second from Pool C
QF4: Winner of Pool A takes on Second from Pool B

Semi Finals
SF1: Winner of QF1 takes on Winner of QF2
SF2: Winner of QF3 takes on Winner of QF4

3rd Place Play-Off
Loser of SF1 takes on Loser of SF2

Winner of SF1 takes on Winner of SF

Winners History

Year   Winner             Runner Up Bronze Winner   4th Place Host Nation               
1987 New Zealand    France  Wales  Australia New Zealand/Australia 
1991  Australia   England  New Zealand  Scotland UK / France 
1995 South Africa   New Zealand  France  England South Africa 
1999 Australia   France  South Africa  New Zealand Wales 
2003 England  Australia  New Zealand  France Australia
2007 South Africa  England  Argentina  France France
2011 New Zealand  France  Australia  Wales New Zealand
2015          England 
2019          Japan 

Opinions Add Opinion
No Rants (Opinions) Created Yet


Registered Users
Email (or Alias):


? Forgot password

Register Here

Squad Shares
How to Play

TESTRUGBY.com © FitSurfer Fantasy Games Limited. Private information collected for this website is governed by our Privacy Policy
Powered by streamSWEET CMS